Traditional Scottish Recipes. Take Two

I’ve rewritten the next three recipes in what I’m calling the Dishcloth saga. I always said I would never post a Haggis recipe because there are so many on the Web. However, there was a Haggis recipe on the old dishcloth so I was sort of bound to post this one.

I never really understood what a good Haggis recipe was all about. Sitting down and having to concentrate on what was printed on the dishcloth, forced me to understand the process.

I must admit I don’t know if l’m enamoured with the dish. Don’t even think I’ll try it but at least I know how, and with what, it’s made. I imagine it’s an acquired taste which comes naturally to the Scots.

I’m including something which may be Scottish but which I can’t wait to try, namely, Shortbread. The photos of the dishes were taken from the Internet (and that includes yesterday’s post) and do not depict the actual posted recipe.


The Celebrated Haggis

Ingredients

The stomach bag of a sheep. Pluck. Heart. Lights. Liver. 1 lb of pinhead oatmeal. 8 oz of Suet. 3 Onions. Salt and pepper

Method

Clean the bag thoroughly, scald, scrape and soak in salted water. Parboil the pluck. Grate the liver Mince the heart and lights with suet. Blanche the onions and cut finely. Toast the oatmeal. Mix all the ingredients adding salt and pepper and stock. Put the mixture in stomach bag and sew it up. Place the Haggis on an enamel plate in a pot of boiling water for 2-3 hours. Serve with potatoes.


Shortbread

Ingredients

8 oz of plain flour. 4 oz of rice flour. 8 oz of butter. 4 oz of castor sugar

Method

Blend the butter and sugar thoroughly and knead in the flour. Press with the hand into two round cakes 3/4 ” thick. Prick with a fork. Bake in a moderate oven for 25 – 30 minutes


Barley Bannocks from Loch Lomond

Ingredients

1 lb of Barley meal. 4 oz of flour. 2 teaspoons of bicarbonate of soda. 2 teaspoons of cream of tartar. 1/2 teaspoon of salt. 3/4 of a pint of Buttermilk

Method

Put the barley meal into a bowl with the flour, cream of tartar and salt. Mix together well. Stir bicarbonate of soda into the buttermilk and stir briskly as it fizzes up. Pour it into the flour mixture. Make into a soft dough and roll out lightly to about an inch thick. Cut into rounds. Bake on a hot griddle, browning on both sides


Published by nolliebee

Short story author

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started